The Walk Home

I was walking home after a night out in town; it was raining and I didn’t have an umbrella. It was horrible but I didn’t have the money for a taxi. As I turned onto Oxford Road I saw a man following me, I’d seen him before at the club and now, here he was.

I panicked, I was acting irrationally. It was dark though, and I was drunk; so I ran. I kept running until I was nearly home. That’s when I was mugged.

Two big guys jumped out from the alleyway; they kicked me and pushed me against the wall. I reached for my wallet and phone as the held a knife to my stomach. Terrified, I gave them everything I had.

That’s when the man I thought was following me came round the corner; my attackers ran, they had what they wanted from me. Turns out joe, my saviour, lived in the same accommodation block as me. He helped me home.

So I was wrong, never judge a book by its cover, or a person on first impression.

7 responses to “The Walk Home

  1. This is a good one, and these types of stories — the encounter with the stranger — have a very strong appeal.
    If it’s set in London it helps me to visualize it because I’ve been there, but regardless of the location, it’s a universal theme.

    P.S. I hope to God this is fiction, and didn’t actually happen to you!

    • Yes this is fiction, it’s just a situation that crossed my mind a while back when I thought someone was following me.

      The setting is Manchester, Oxford Road is a main road where both Universities are situated. Needless to say it is very busy in the daytime but at nights it can be fairly quiet and a bit scary.

    • It didn’t actually happen thank God, it was just a situation that I came up with when I thought someone was following me. I got terrified thinking about it and nearly ran home, but my would-be attacker turned a corner and I didn’t see him after that. Little embarrassing but I’m a bit of a wimp sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

