Review 1: Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Saga Part 2

So last week I talked about the underlying themes of the Twilight Saga as I see them: anti-feminism and sexual restraint. It’s not just me who believes this by the way, arguments like mine are plastered all over the Internet on sites like WordPress and Wikipedia.

Moving on from that, I finished last time with a quote from Stephen King:

“Stephenie Meyer can’t write worth a darn. She’s not very good.”

This is an opinion I share in so many ways that if I listed them this post would take five years to read! Ok, I’m exaggerating, but still, King’s right. The description is lacking, the dialogue is unrealistic and repetitive, the characters aren’t well shaped at all, and the narrative voice is pathetically weak.

As the books are written from Bella’s perspective, it’s possible to argue that because Meyer may have intended Bella to be a ‘stripped-down’ character, she is incapable of describing the world around her in a well-formed manner. To be honest though, I think Meyer just isn’t very good at writing; she had never written anything before Twilight, that’s just not fair!

I’ll be truthful, I’m jealous and I wish my writing would be noticed in the same way. Although I would prefer to be noticed on the merit of my writing, not the possible popularity of my book due to underlying sexual themes which young teenage girls can relate to. Oh and the attractive actors who play the main characters in the film, which shouldn’t have been made in the first place.

In summary, Stephenie Meyer is a woman who can market herself very well considering that what she’s marketing goes against popular culture, and that her writing style is under-developed and downright shoddy. She should have gone into advertising…God I wish she’d gone into advertising…

Leave a comment